RSS

Hamburger Lindstrom

24 Nov

I have recently been moving bookshelves around and was flipping through some cookbooks.  Many recipes can quickly be made GAPS friendly by swapping out an ingredient or two.

I am also trying to incorporate more diversity in my meals.  My main goal is to find ways to stretch my grass-fed meat budget.

The other morning as I was flipping through a cookbook I came across this recipe which I have converted to make it 100% GAPS legal.    We all were delighted with how this tasted.

1 lb of ground meat

1 cup of beets

2 eggs

a splash of apple cider vinegar

1 tsp of dill weed

salt and pepper

about a 1/4 cup of coconut flour (perhaps less)

and of course salt and pepper

I put the beets in the food processor and ground them up. Then I tossed in everything but the coconut flour.  I ground it up and then added in flour until it was a good texture for frying

Before serving I topped with yogurt cheese that I had mixed with dill weed.   (yogurt cheese is like cream cheese)

I admit that I had some reservations about this recipe but I am so glad that I did not pass it over.  It was truly fabulous.  So if you are trying to get more veggies into your diet, this recipe is a winner.  It works out to be about half meat and half veggies.  But the addition of eggs and the cheese keeps the protein levels up.

I used a very lean ground beef so it cooked out no fat, making these burgers good eaten cold or chopped up in a salad.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2013 in Beef, Beets, Cheese

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
