RSS

GAPS Sandwich Bean Bread

16 Jun
GAPS Sandwich Bean Bread

I confess, after years of being wheat free, the whole alternative bread thing was something that our family just learned to live without except an occasional loaf now and then…

Recently, I have been making Navy Bean Bread.  This recipe is not new with me…it is all over the internet and while I do not usually blog on the same topics as other authors, I think this one bears repeating.

2 cups of cooked pureed navy beans, soaked 24 hours before cooking

6 eggs yolks separated from the whites

2 1/4 tsp honey

3 tsp of cider vinegar

Blend all of this together in your food processor until it is smooth.

add

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp baking soda (this can be omitted)

3/4 to 1 cup of coconut flour

Blend until smooth.  Pour over into a large mixing bowl.

Whip the 6 egg whites until they they get stiff and peak.  Then fold them into your bread dough.

Pour the dough into a bread pan that has been lined with parchment paper.  Bake at 300 for 1 1/2 hours.

Comments:  different brands of coconut flour vary in how much you use.  Tropical Traditions is not quite as finely milled as Red Bob’s and it does not take as much.  When paying by the pound that is a good thing.

Secondly: I have made this without separating the egg yolks from the whites and had a great success.  I left the batter in my food processor longer, working air into the dough.  I let my food processor run until there was a definite increase in the bowl…then I poured it over into my pans and immediately placed it in the oven.

Also, this bread freezes great so you can make up several batches at a time.

I have made this with lentils for a “brown bread”.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 16, 2013 in Beans, Bread

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “GAPS Sandwich Bean Bread

  1. Lori

    June 17, 2013 at 6:15 am

    I can testify as to how yummy this bread is. The author made some for me and my children, and they all declared it was “just like real toast bread” and “the best they had ever had.” ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
