RSS

Coconut Risotto

08 Nov

This was so easy and something totally different for us.  I admit the photo is really lacking but the flavor was very good.

It all started this morning when I was shopping for coconut oil.  I was contemplating whether or not I wanted to include any more coconut flakes in my order.  And then I slowed down a bit to read about the various cuts of the flakes and all of a sudden this jumped out at me… “about the size of white rice”!

Like many of you, rice was a staple in our home and some recipes are just not the same without it.  And while I have found cabbage to be a good rice replacement, there are some things that it is not right for.  So I got to thinking about ways to use coconut like rice.   The thought of making risotto popped into my mind.

This is what I did.  I put about a cup of coconut in the bottom of my pan and covered it with water.  Then I added a chopped onion, and a stalk of celery.  On top of this I placed 5 chicken legs and covered the pan.  I let this simmer until the chicken was done.
When the chicken was finished, I removed the chicken and put the rest of the contents of the pan into the blender and blended it up until it was creamy.  I then returned this to the pan, added sliced mushroom and about  a 1/3 cup of Parmesan cheese and a splash of white wine. It was a little thick so I added a splash of kefir to it.  I let this rest on warm until the mushrooms were cooked.

I served this with the chicken, mustard greens, and carrots.  It was a great meal!  I am very excited about the results of this.  I plan to research other risotto recipes and see what kind of modifications I can come up with.

So while this will not be as cheap as rice, it will make a nice variation from time to time.

Buon Appetito!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2012 in Coconut Risotto

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Coconut Risotto

  1. kerrichka

    November 9, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Yum! I’ll have to try this! Did you use shredded coconut, or coconut meat from a store bought coconut?

     
    • basicgaps

      November 9, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      I used dried coconut from Tropical Traditions. We ate the leftovers today for lunch and DH commented it was like oatmeal in texture…I filed that thought away for later.

       

Leave a Reply

 
