RSS

Egg Foo Young, Spinach, and Cucumber Salad

31 Mar

I love Asian cuisine.  When we were first married my husband and I were stationed in Hawaii and it was there that I learned to love the diversity of flavors that one finds in the Asian and Polynesian foods.  While rice, soy sauce, and all those sweet sauces are not allowed on our diet the basic tenants of Asian cooking is very much an option for us.

Egg Foo Young is one of those options and simple to make.  You start with the veggies of your choice.  I decided on a cubanelle pepper, an onion, a couple of stalks of celery, all sliced very thin.  To this I added in some finely diced mushrooms and a little grated carrot.  Oh yes, and a couple of good sized cloves of garlic crushed.   In a separate bowl I whipped up 8 eggs and then added this to my veggie combination.  Then I add salt, black pepper, and a good shake of powdered ginger.

About this time my Darling Hubby walked into the kitchen and offered to help.  I put a frying oil mixture of coconut, palm, and seasame into a small iron skillet and put him to work.

 

This allowed me to make the next portion of our meal.   I crushed about 4 cloves of garlic and chopped up a cayenne pepper then added this to a skillet with coconut and seasame oil and allowed it to flavor the oil for a few minutes.  Then I tossed in thinnly sliced carrot and cooked them until tender.  Afterwards I topped off the pan with a bag of fresh spinach that I cooked until just done.

Along side of this I made a cucumber salad.  Simpy cucumber, sweet onion, sweet peppers with a dressing made of a splash of apple cider vinegar, a drizzling of olive oil and a spoonful of honey to sweeten. And of course salt and pepper to taste.

It was a fine meal and one that the family all totally enjoyed.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2012 in Eggs

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Egg Foo Young, Spinach, and Cucumber Salad

  1. sandykaye46

    March 31, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    Sounds really yummy!! I will have to give this a try.

     
  2. KT

    April 3, 2012 at 1:51 am

    Yummy tummy food!!

     
  3. Savannah

    April 4, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    That blend of coconunt, palm, and sesame oils tasted almost exactly like peanut oil once it was fried into the food!

     

Leave a Reply

 
