RSS

Beef with Red Cabbage, Onions, and Mushrooms

29 Mar

 

This was another day that I found myself with a small pot roast cooked over night in the crock pot and no real plans for what to do with it.  Some of you know that in addition to my family, I also make sure that my father-in-law gets fed twice daily.  On many days I literally cook four meals instead of two. The goal for him is proper nutrition and quantity.  Dear Ole Dad (DoD), needs to feed before noon so often I fix his small meal and then move on to ours after I send a daughter out the door to take Grandaddy his.  Dear Old Dad can be a bit of a stinker about feeding.  He is not picky but one has to be very careful about rotating the things he likes in a way that keeps him interested in eating.

So it was one of those mornings when I looked at the clock and realized that I needed to quickly come up with an idea for Dad’s lunch.  He is very fond of red cabbage, onions, and mushrooms.  And since he grew up on a ranch and has been a rancher his whole life, beef is always a favorite.

So I sauteed, until very tender, onion, red cabbage, and mushrooms in a liberal amount of coconut oil, butter, and olive oil.  When it was done I salted it well and added garlic powder (DoD’s favorite seasoning combination) along with black pepper.  This was so good I decided that I would fix the same thing for our lunch.

After the cabbage, onions, and mushrooms were cooked down I served it with sliced pot roast and some navy beans which complimented well.

As an aside, recently I have learned something about cooking my meat in the crock pot overnight (perhaps I am still a novice with the crock pot…)  I have found that if I put my meat in the crock pot frozen the night before and turn it on low that the meat does not get over cooked and tough.  Instead it comes out with a tender texture and one that is more enjoyable.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 29, 2012 in Beef, Cabbage, Crock Pot

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Beef with Red Cabbage, Onions, and Mushrooms

  1. Savannah

    March 30, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Oh! This was a lovely meal!

    For the Kingdom!
    Savannah

     

Leave a Reply

 
