RSS

Coconut Cake

22 Mar

My family does not do a lot of desserts but when we had this one it was so very good that I decided that I needed to include it here.   Thanks to Precious Joys http://preciousjoys.wordpress.com/ who pointed me to the recipe found here http://www.lovingourguts.com/coconut-butter-cake-with-coconut-frosting-2/

This cake is fabulous and worth the time it takes to make it. I took this cake to a birthday party last evening.  My motivation was to bring something GAPS/SCD approved so the extended family could see that we are not doing without all the those “good things” that are known to be part of most family get togethers.  This cake held its own amongst the other ooey gooeys that laden the table.

I made the coconut cream from shredded coconut which I purchase in bulk from http://www.tropicaltraditions.com/organic_dried_coconut.htm.  You can also buy the coconut cream at this location.  

The making of the coconut cream is what took the time.  I did mine in the food processor.  It took a while because I didn’t want to overheat my appliance. This was not really a problem for me because I was doing other stuff in the kitchen so I would just switch the processor off and on as needed.   Perhaps it was not as smooth as it could have been but that was not a negative in my opinion.  I did adjust the recipe by adding juice from half a lemon to the batter.  The next time I make it, I plan to add more lemon juice to compliment the coconut. 

The author at Loving Our Guts give ideas for ways to use the basic recipe to make other kinds of cakes.   So if you are looking for that perfect cake to show off to your non-GAPS/SCD family and friends, go get this recipe and give it a try.  You will not be disappointed!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 22, 2012 in Cake

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Coconut Cake

  1. Racheal

    March 22, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    When are you going to make another one?? This was soo good. (Could you make carrot cake out of it next time? Please:) )

     

Leave a Reply

 
