RSS

Bacon Jam

14 Feb

I ran across this recipe the other day by accident and I immediately wanted to make it.  Today is Valentine’s Day so I decided to make this for my husband.

What in the world would one do with something called bacon jam?  Consider it a condiment with a Mexican flair because it definitely has that Mexican influence with the peppers, coffee, and chocolate.  It would be good served with meat, stuffed inside an avocado, or eaten with a piece of GAPS/SCD bread.  One daughter said that it has a bit of a B-B-Q flavor.

If possible try and find bacon that is sugar free.  I am limited in where I can shop so I just used regular bacon.  I found several recipes on the internet and the most popular was the one that appealed the least to me.   I decided to make up my own recipe.

16 ounces of bacon

1 large onion diced

5 cloves of crushed garlic

1 tbsp of coconut oil (see the directions)

1 cup of coffee (plus I added in what was left in the thermos-no need to be totally exact)

3-4 oz of honey–I guessed at this, I actually just drizzled some in until I thought it was about right.

2 oz (I used my shot glass) apple cider vinegar

2 oz of raisins

2 oz of dried cranberries (After I had dumped them in there I realized that I was not sure whether or not they had sugar on them…I got them at the bulk section at the health food store and carelessly forgot to check…and then carelessly dumped them into the pot….if you can’t find them without sugar just don’t put them in….or double the raisins.)

1 tbsp of coco powder  (If you are not able to eat coco powder yet, it can be left out I think and still be good. Or substitute a nut butter.)

1 pasilla dried pepper

1 dried cayene pepper

1 tsp of cinnamon

You start out by cutting the bacon up into small pieces and fry it.  About half way to brown, I drained off the liquid that was forming in the bottom of the pan to remove any excess sugar that might be cooking out of the bacon.    At this point I added back in the coconut oil.   I continued to cook until the bacon began to brown and added in the chopped onion and  crushed garlic.   I cooked this on a lower temperature until the bacon and onion was browned.

After that I added in all the other ingredients and stirred it all together.   I allowed this to simmer on low with a lid on it until it came out the jam consistency that I wanted.   Most recipes tell you to give it a good pulse or two in the food processor but it looked about right so I stuffed it in a jar and called it good enough!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in Condiments

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Bacon Jam

  1. KT

    March 1, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    This bacon jam was really good on my morning eggs! Can we have some more? 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
