RSS

One Turkey Bread and One Turkey Cake

13 Feb

This page was inspired by my mother.  Years ago, she found a recipe in the newspaper to use ground turkey to make a cake similar to a mince pie in flavor. One day when talking with her about GAPS/SCD alternative foods, she suggested that I make something with ground turkey.   So for several weeks now, I have planned on trying to create a recipe….I finally remembered to buy a roll of ground turkey.

I’ve actually, made a bread and a cake with basically the same concept.  Ground turkey, eggs, and coconut flour.

Herb Bread

I took the basic Lois Lang bread recipe and removed the dry curd cheese and replaced it with a 1/2 pound of ground turkey.   I decided that I wanted to make an herb bread.  So I added salt and dried herbs (basil,oregano, thyme, rosemary, onion & garlic powder).   I used coconut flour instead of almond.  The mixture was far to dry so I added in some kefir whey to make it moist.

The final product is tasty but a bit too dry.  I dumped the bread out of the pan when it was too hot and it cracked in half.  I realized in hindsight that I did not use as much butter as the recipe called for.  I think that if I would have paid a bit more attention to that detail that it would not have been so dry.   This would be very good with a slice of cheese on it.   One could easily do this without the herbs for a regular bread.

 

Turkey Spice Cake

Again I started out with 1/2 pound of ground turkey and then added a cup of honey to it.  From there I added in 2 tsps of cinnamon, a dash of mace and nutmeg, 1/8 tsp of allspice, and 1/4 tsp of ground cloves and 1 tsp of good strong vanilla, 3 eggs and then coconut flour.  I did add a bit more butter to this one although not the full amount.  This could easily have had raisins and nuts added.  Apple sauce also would have been a good addition to moisten it up a bit.  The overall rating on this one was yummy.   So the kids can have their cake and their turkey, too!!

 

I basically did this post to introduce the idea of adding ground meats to breads and cakes.   The other day, I was thinking that using the scrappy meat from my stockpot would do well ground into breads and cakes.  I may try that later on.  In my family we are about half divided on tolerating coconut flour in large amounts so I it may be a week or two before I get back around to trying that.

Well, perhaps this idea will be useful to you….

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in Bread, Cake

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “One Turkey Bread and One Turkey Cake

  1. Carol Noren Johnson

    February 13, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    Vanessa,

    You are such a creative cook. You have written one cookbook for educatiing your daughters. I think you need to do another one on the GAPS recipes you are creating.

    Hugs and prayers for your father and mother,

    Carol

     

Leave a Reply

 
