RSS

Bread

16 Nov

Hello, I am privileged to be asked to guest-post here on Mom’s site…the topic is GAPS approved bread. Coconut flour and eggs are the main ingredients to make a successful GAPS bread (in fact, these coconut flour breads are the first breads that I ever have made with alternative flours that actually look like real bread!)

This is my favorite recipe and the one I always use…I tried one or two others in the beginning, but this one is quite versatile and tasty. I will give the foundational recipe and then hints for variations.

Zucchini Bread

3/4 cup shredded zucchini (can be raw or cooked)

8 eggs

1/4 butter (or any kind of GAPS approved oil- lard is great)

2 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup coconut flour

I usually start with the eggs, mixing them well; then I add everything else, starting with the butter and working down the list from there. Once all that stuff is stirred in I add the zucchini, then the coconut flour. (In the original recipe, it said to pre-mix the baking powder and flour–I skip that step.)  If you’d like you can add in 1/2 cup of walnuts.  Bake for 1 hour at 350*. (I usually start checking on them at 45 minutes–sometimes they are done.) To check doneness, poke with a knife as you would with a cake–when it comes out clean it is done. (I’ve had a few loaves that passed the knife-test but where still kind of squishy–I tossed them back in the oven for 5-10 minutes and that did the trick.)

To make a variation of the Zucchini , you can use grated beets (raw or cooked), or winter squash of any variety (I steam it enough that it’ll mash). Personally, I like the beet bread a lot. But probably everybody’s favorite variation is the Chocolate Beet Bread (or cake). To make this you follow the above recipe, using beets instead of zucchini, and adding extra honey. (That’s a total of 3/8 cup according to my recipe–if that’s not sweet enough you can add more to taste.)  Add 1/4 cup of cocoa powder (more or less depending on how dark you like your chocolate:))

One more interesting note…line your bread pans with greased parchment paper. Once the bread is done, all you have to do is pull the parchment paper out of the pan and then move the bread from the paper to the cooling rack. If you don’t use parchment paper, the bread tends to stick in the pan.

~~Racheal from http://rachealsramblings.weebly.com/

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Bread

  1. Carol Noren Johnson

    November 20, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Excellent, Racheal,

    I am excited about your blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
