RSS

Making Kraut

05 Nov

Fermenting Kraut

 A better part of the day was spent in making Kraut.  I harvested several cabbages the other day so today’s chore was cleaning and chopping, smashing and packing kraut jars.  When all was said and done I ended up with exactly 4 gallons!!  I will put it in the basement and forget about it until much later.

I have been making lacto-fermented kraut for years now.  The recipe is found all over the internet and in several books so no need to duplicate that information here. As I have said in a previous post, I am not one to follow recipes very well.  But when I first started making kraut I was so afraid that I was going to do something wrong and eat spoiled food.  Since then, I have learned a good deal about fermenting. I am fearless now when it comes to lacto-fermenting.   If you have never played around with this wonderful way to preserve foods you are missing out on the fun and health benefits.

Kraut is like a good science experiment and you get to eat it too. Watching the fermentation process work is fascinating.  I have let jars of kraut sit for two years until the fermentation process is totally complete.  Kraut at this stage is safe to eat and very tasty.  By the time it has quit working the cabbage is very tender as if cooked yet darker in color.  Darling Hubby and child #3 likes it this way particularly cooked up with onions and butter.

I am still all excited about something that I learned last year when making up my fall harvest of kraut.  Because we always have excess whey from our kefir I went to using more whey and less salt. The kraut quits working before it gets to that “fully cooked” texture. Also it does not darken.  But the best part is that it tastes better, less salty.  I have gone to doing this with more of my veggies and we are very pleased with the outcome. 

Fermentation has become a great hobby of mine…and with that I must be off to another project. Salsa!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 5, 2011 in Fermented Foods

 

Tags:

One response to “Making Kraut

  1. Savannah

    November 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Yes, you can view fermentation as a hobby…or as raising livestock, as Mr. Lulundi always describes it. Someday a post about kefir would be interesting as well–there is so much one can do with it. For example, I mix a medium-thick strained kefir with tahini and thin it with a bit of water or whey to use as a replacement for mayonnaise in salad dressings or dips. Add a touch of salt, a splash of honey, a squeeze of lemon, and a clove or two of garlic for a simple dressing that most people will like, even if it just isn’t the same thing as soybean oil mayonnaise….

    That all came out of the thought of the jars of whey for fermenting that can so easily overtake the countertops!

    Savannah

     

Leave a Reply

 
